Scent of Love

scent.jpg

“Love is like a beautiful flower which I may not touch, but whose fragrance makes the garden a place of delight just the same.” ~Helen Keller

 

I have this little therapeutic habit of mine which I haven’t openly shared with anyone. Every night, right before I go to bed, I like to dab a hint of my favorite fragrance on my wrists, back of my ears, and my hair. It’s kind of like a private little ritual that I carry out, just for myself.

The person who once said that “no memory is as powerful as the memory of scent” was truly an insightful one. Every night, the sweet, familiar fragrance reminds me that I’m truly unique and wonderful. And I’m surrounded by a great flow of unconditional love and total acceptance, given to me by none other than myself.

Surely, one should not aim to be overly self-centered, egoistic, or selfish. However, self-love and self-acceptance are things that one needs to learn to cultivate for himself or herself, in order to live a happy, satisfying, and fulfilled life. Henry Winkler once said, “A human being’s first responsibility is to shake hands with himself.”

So who says perfume is exclusively designed for a girl who wishes to lure and entice the man of her dreams? Forget those things they tell us in female magazines and the messages they portray in fragrance advertisements that “advice” us to wear perfume to be more “sexually attractive” or desirable. Who needs that when a girl is totally happy with herself? đŸ™‚

Remember: you spent those money on that tiny, precious bottle of fragrance because you loved the scent of it (that was why you bought it in the first place). So why spend time waiting for the “right man” or the “perfect moment” for you to wear it? Don’t wait – love yourself, make yourself happy, and start pampering yourself with the scent of love. Because YOU totally deserve it…

Leave a Reply

